Top 10 Facts you should know about Dance India Dance

Dance India Dance is one of the most popular shows on Indian television and has been running for a long time now. The talent is assessed across several rounds by a panel of judges. The ultimate choice of the winner rests upon the audience whose votes decide the winner. Professional along with amateur Indian dancers showcases their talent on the platform. Following is a list of top 10 facts you should know about Dance India Dance.

dance india dance facts

  1. About the show

The show started on January 30, 2009. This is aired on Zee TV and is produced by UTV Software Communications. The format of the show is such where dancers enter open auditions which are held in a number of Indian metropolitan cities. The candidates showcase their unique talents and style. If selected in the auditions, they further need to face mega-audition rounds for testing their ability to dance to different styles. After the mega audition, the top 18 dancers are chosen as finalists who move to compete in the main phase. They not only perform solo but also duet and group dance numbers in a number of styles. The show has won a number of television awards for the category of ‘Most Popular Dance Reality Show.’

  1. Hosts

It has been hosted by actors Saumya Tandon and Jay Bhanushali since its launch. The first season was hosted by Taran Raja. Ishita Sharma has also hosted the show. Saumya Tandon too has been praised for her anchoring skills and graceful presence. She is an Indian actress who has acted in several films. Jay Bhanushali has achieved great praise for his anchoring skills and also for his comic timings. He has even received awards for the category of the best anchor in DID Li’l Masters 2.

  1. Dance styles practised and performed

The show comprises of a number of Indian cultural along with international dance styles which range across all styles. The broad spectrum of style and variations include classical, contemporary, hip-hop, Bollywood, jazz, Kalaripayattu, Salsa, Samba and also musical theatrical styles. There are a number of subgenres within the categories represented. Each of the candidates selected is skilled in distinct dance forms. The program practise all dance forms. On being selected, the contestants receive training from professional choreographers. The competitors strive to master all the different forms of dance styles to survive till the finale. The winner wins prize money of Rs 50 lakh along with the title of India’s best dancer.

  1. Judges

The show is judged by the eminent dancers Remo D’Souza, Geeta Kapoor, Terence Lewis, Feroz Khan, Shruti Merchant and Mudassar khan. They not only judge the show but also choreograph it. The special judge of the show is Mithun Chakraborty. The candidates perform the auditions in front of a panel of these 3 judges who are expert in 3 different dance forms. They using their knowledge select contestants as part of the show. Remo D’Souza along with being a choreographer is a director too by profession.

  1. Format of the show

The show opens the door to the age group of 15 to 25. Any individual of the particular age group is free to enrol themselves for auditions. Individuals from any place in India can audition on the show. Once they are chosen, they are trained by professional choreographers. They excel in different dance forms and compete against each other. One of the other important facts about the show is its voting procedure. The contestants make their way to the finale on the basis of the votes. On the other hand, the contestant receiving the least number of votes gets eliminated. The dance styles taught to the contestants range from ballet, acrobatics, shadow dancing, mid-air dancing, Broadway theatre, contemporary, Bollywood, Latin, ballroom, and hip-hop.

  1. Selection procedure

The selection procedure is broken down into two different stages, namely the open auditions and mega auditions which are the second phase. In about 5-10 major cities, the open auditions take place. During the first round of auditions, the contestants perform a brief act of dance upon which they are tested. The judges then make an on-spot decision regarding selection. On being selected, the contestants enter the second round of mega auditions. Here, they are tested on the overall dance capability. At the end of the entire ordeal, 18 competitors are chosen. The chosen individuals are divided into three groups under three distinct judges.

  1. Seasons of the show

The show since its prevalence has come up with many seasons. Names of the seasons are ‘Dance Ke Superstars’, ‘Dance India Dance Super Mom’, DID Dance Ka Tashan, Dance India Dance Li’l Masters and Dance India Dance Doubles. These seasons incorporated unique show themes which are distinct from the usual ones.

  1. Names of DID winners

The winner of the first season of Dance India Dance held in 2009 was Salman Yusuf Khan. The first season started on January 30, 2009. The winner of the second season which was aired on April 23, 2010, was Shakti Mohan. Rajasmita Kar was the winner of the third season, aired in the year 2012. The winner of the fourth season was Shyam Yadav in the year 2014. Season 5 was won by Proneeta Swargiary which was aired on October 11, 2015.

  1. Celebrity judges

There are a number of celebrity judges who have made their presence on the show. Eminent celebrities like Salman Khan, Govinda, Prabhu Deva, Karishma Kapoor, Aishwarya Rai, Ranveer Singh, Alia Bhatt, Sonakshi Sinha and many others have visited the show as celebrity guests.

  1. Tough competition

The show practices very tough competition. Each of the contestants selected is experts in different fields of dancing. Hence, it surfaces a lot of competition on the show. Each contestant along with the group strives to achieve their very best to reach the top. As it is one of the leading shows, hence the competition level is always at its peak.


Related Posts

About The Author

Add Comment