IPL 2017 Purple Cap (Most Wickets) Winners List All Seasons 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Indian Premier League (IPL) Purple Cap (Highest Wickets) Winners Player List All Seasons 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017

List of Top 10 IPL Purple Cap Winner 2017 – Till Now

S.No Player Name Team Match Wkts BBI 4w/5w
1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 16  5/19 0/1
2 Chris Morris Delhi Daredevils 6 12  4/26  1/0
3 Mitchell McClenaghan Mumbai Indian 8 12  3/24 0/0

1st IPL season (2008) Purple Cap Winner: Sohail Tanvir
IPL (Indian Premier League) is famous for various reasons. If we check the highest wicket takers of last seasons, then we find the names of some terrific bowler in the history of word T-20. Let’s have a look on the purple cap holders of IPL, from season 1 to 10.

Sohail Tanvir

Sohail Tanvir was the Purple cap winner of IPL season 1. He displayed a stellar performance to scalp 22 wickets at the average of 12.09 for Rajasthan Royal, just in 11 matches. His 6 wicket against Chennai Super Kings giving just 14 runs is the best balling figure in the history of IPL till now. In addition, he took 4 for 14 against Mumbai Indians and 3 for 10 against Royal Challengers. He did not get a second chance to retain his cap in IPL again.

2nd IPL season (2009) Purple Cap Winner: RP Singh

RP Singh

Behind the victory of Deccan Chargers in 2009, RP Singh contributed his big hands by holding the record of highest wicket taker of that season. He took 23 wickets in that season with the average of 18.13. He became the most veteran bowler of that year who was the most economical bowler of the final match defending a total of 143 runs against Royal Challengers.

3rd IPL season (2010) Purple Cap Winner: Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha

The purple cap holder of the 3rd IPL was a spinner. He is none other than Pragyan Ojha who stunned everybody with his strenuous performance in 2010. He played just 16 matches in that tournament and picked up 21 wickets with an average of 20.42. Pragyan Ojha did something idiosyncratic in the book of IPL history that other spinners could not.

4th IPL season (2011) Purple Cap Winner: Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga

A toe crusher performance was seen by Lasith Malinga in IPL season 4. He finished the tournament as the most economical bowler at the rate of 5.95. On different eight occasions of this season, he conceded less than 25 runs in his four over limitation. He took 5 wickets just for 13 runs in his first game. He led the bowling department from the front and contributed with 28 wickets at 13.39 in the triumph of Mumbai Indians.

5th IPL Season (2012) Purple Cap Winner: Morne Morkel

Morne Morkel

The adept pacer of South Africa, Morne Morkel has made a tremendous remark on IPL season 5th by taking 25 wickets in 16 matches only. He played for Delhi Daredevils this season and became the top bowler at the economy of 7.19 and an average of 18.12. A real tough competition for the purple cap was displayed between Sunil Narine and Morne Morkel, which was ended up finally in favour of Morkel as the highest wicket taker.

6th IPL season (2013) Purple Cap Winner: Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo, the medium pacer of West Indies has made the spectators staggered with his engrossed performance in 2013 IPL from Chennai Super Kings. His 32 wicket haul in just 18 matches is still the best wicket taking the record in a single IPL edition. He bagged the purple cap with an economy of 11.71 and an average of 15.53.

7th IPL season 7 (2014) Purple Cap Winner: Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma from Haryana, picked up 23 wickets in just 16 matches in his second IPL edition only, showing a promising character as a match winner for CSK. His clever amalgamation of the back hand slower with the perfect swing made him able to grab the crown of the purple cap in 7th IPL season.

8th IPL season (2015) Purple Cap Winner: Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo

Another supergiant performance from Dwayne Bravo has been seen in 8th IPL season again for the same franchise CSK. He took 26 wickets at an average of 16.38 and able to manage the crown of best bowler that season. This is the second time he retains the purple cap for him and for his team.

9th IPL season (2016) Purple Cap Winner: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvi clinched the spot of highest wicket taker in IPL season 9 (2016). He snapped 23 wickets in just 17 matches and helped his team Sunriser Hyderabad to uplift the trophy.

10th IPL season (2017) Purple Cap Winner : Who is Winner Orange Cap?

IPL has reached to its 10th edition. The tournament is running and Rashid Khan, Imran Tahir are in the race of purple cap this year. However, we need to wait until the end of the season to get the final winner of purple cap.

IPL 2017 Orange Cap (Most Runs) Winners List All Seasons 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

IPL 2017 Winner Team List All Seasons 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 – IPL T20 Cricket

List of IPL Purple Cap Winner till 2016

Player Name Team YEAR Wickets Best Bowling
Sohail Tanvir Rajasthan Royals 2008 22 6/14
RP Singh Deccan Chargers 2009 23 4/22
Pragyan Ojha Deccan Chargers 2010 21 3/26
Lasith Malinga Mumbai Indians 2011 28 5/13
Morne Morkel Delhi Daredevils 2012 25 4/20
Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 2013 32 4/42
Mohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings 2014 23 4/14
Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 2015 26 3/22
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 2016 23 4/29

Leave a Reply